Blogger Recognition Award

Before I begin my long and dramatic speech, I’d like to apologize profusely for my absence. Moving to London with no laptop is no joke (First world problems, right?) But I’m here now and I’m nominated for an award! Yay!

The Rules for The Blogger Recognition Award

For all the nominees for this award, here are the rules, if you choose to accept(Please do):

  1. Write a post to show your award.
  2. Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  3. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  4. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog.
  5. Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to.

This award means everything because of the people who nominated me. Sailaja ma’am, the most creative, sarcastic and literarily adept English teacher that’s walked the face of the earth. She believed in me when I didn’t even believe in myself. It’s her confidence that pushed me to write about anything and everything. Thanks to her the little girl who froze on stage on principle is now winning debates.
Jajwalya and Sriraksha, women I grew up with, went through every book phase with and for the longest time, wrote with. Although we’ve grown into our own individual voices and writing styles, I always go back to our school days and smile. Thanks for the nomination guys!

How my blog started

The Ink Drop came into existence in 2013 when I was young, enthusiastic and ready to take on life and philosophy. And then one day, I couldn’t write anymore. Maybe it was my teenage mood swings, I don’t know. Emotions failed me. I wasn’t numb but it was as if emotions didn’t exist. I didn’t feel, I didn’t write. My blog lay there like a wasteland, an untapped resource. It’s life ended before it even began. And I never felt a drop of guilt.

Then one day, three years later, my grandmother died and suddenly all the pain and misery and heartache tore into my chest leaving me broken and battered. But I still didn’t write.

Months later, I thought to myself, enough is enough! It is time to pick up that pen and write, no matter how terrible my vocabulary is or how poetically derelict I may have become, It is time to put words into paper. And thus my tagline was born. ‘Don’t think, Just write’ . My blog was as welcoming as it was three years earlier. I dedicated my first post and all my posts to my grandmother, who is the woman I aspire to be. Love you, Ajji.

My Advice to New Bloggers

Being only two months old myself, I don’t have any expertise to offer. However, I’d like to share some of my secrets.

  1. Write like no one’s watching.
  2. Remember that sometimes someone is watching

My Nominees

Again, I’m really late and I’m sure everyone is done and dusted with their blogger recognition awards. But I shall nominate a few neverthless.

  1. Pages That Rustle
  2. JinivstheUniverse
  3. Indisputively inconclusive
  4. TheHappyAtom
  5. Penumbra Haiku
  6. Where minds meet..
  7. Original-Dante
  8. Second time blogger
  9. Heartstring Eulogies
  10. Some More Fiction

 

8 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Yay! You go Sue-a-bee!
    Okay, on serious note though. Do you remember Cow and Tiger story? And our Pottery Poetry sessions? Oooh, those mind-numbing shakey-flakey speeches in front of the class?
    We have all come so far, I’m really proud of all of us!

Leave a Reply

